How Do You Like Your Dog?

My standard dog comes with ketchup and mustard and relish. I’ll have sauerkraut sometimes, instead of relish, if it’s available and I’m in the mood. When I was a kid, it was ketchup only. If I get a wild hair, chili dog works just fine. If I’m making the dogs myself, I like them extra crispy on the grill. My husband likes his with mustard only. Sometimes with slices of cheese. Recently he likes it with relish, but feels that might be temporary.

I’ve eaten turkey dogs and tofu dogs and polish sausage dogs and Dodger Dogs and Nathan’s Famous on Coney Island. I have a fantasy of going on a road trip and stopping at any and every hot dog stand we pass. Just cuz.

How do you like your dog?

6 Responses to “How Do You Like Your Dog?”


  1. 1 Borfo April 12, 2009 at 2:17 am

    You named all most my favorites. I recently tried the KogiBBQ dog. It was dog gone good.

  2. 2 JC April 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    The best hot dogs I ever had were in Denmark:

    http://www.um.dk/um_files/Denmark/kids/index.html

    Select a language, then find and click on the chef walking around in the Flash window.

    Basically, it’s something like: ketchup, hot mustard, sweet mustard, Danish remoulade, onions, slices of sweet pickles, and some unidentifiable crunchy bits that might also be onions. Sometimes I’d get the dog bacon-wrapped.

    So I guess that answers the other question too, as my favorite hot dog place is any of the dozens of street vendors in Copenhagen, who all get their sausages from the same companies AFAIK, which apparently are now owned by the same parent company. Otherwise, if we’re talking L.A.-only…I dunno, Costco, I guess? I almost never eat hot dogs, so it’s hard to say.

    Oh yeah, the Die Bretzel sausage/pretzel cart at UCSB is surprisingly good too.

  3. 3 David Markland April 13, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Sorry, kids, but unless you’ve spent some time in Toledo, OH, you’ve unlikely experienced truly glorious hot dogs.

    For the fancy, sausage or chili dog type, Tony Packos is world famous deliciousness.

    If just a straight up, dog on a bun is more to your tasting, Rudy’s will do you right.

    In general, though, I’m a simple man, pleased easily by ketchup, mustard and relish… but if I have an appetite, a chili dog, with or without cheese, will put me in hot dog hog heaven.

  4. 4 Julia April 13, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I look forward to hitting both those places some day, David. As I mentioned, a hot dog road trip would make me very happy.

  5. 5 JC April 14, 2009 at 3:35 am

    “Sorry, kids, but unless you’ve spent some time in Toledo, OH, you’ve unlikely experienced truly glorious hot dogs.”

    Tell you what, Dad, I’ll go to Toledo, if you go to Denmark. Then we’ll talk. 😀


Leave a Reply

TWITTER: Hot Dog Death March LA

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 8,488 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

