What’s YOUR favorite hot dog place?

I will never forgive myself for not making it to Tail O’ The Pup while it was still there. Even after its heartbreaking demise, however, LA is rife with hot dogs.

MY personal favorite is Skooby’s in Hollywood, thanks to Brian introducing me to its garlic aioli.

And to be frank (har har), I loathe Pink’s. I’m ever-mystified by the line that stretches around the shack & up the street. Why in God’s name would anyone wait for one of these things?

I have never been to Oki Dog but have heard fascinating tales of its place in LA punk history, and of its owner, and of the weird way in which its weenies are served.

What’s YOUR fave hot dog joint? Why?

6 Responses to “What’s YOUR favorite hot dog place?”


  1. 1 cnelson April 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Let’s be Frank and The Stand are really the only acceptable dogs/sausages in LA.

  2. 2 Will Campbell April 13, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    While not ergonomically efficient (owing to the unique inclusion of a giant slice of beefsteak ‘mater on top) I’m partial to the unsung hotdoggedness of Tommy’s chili-laden offering, which will be perpetually relegated to second fiddle status behind it’s far more famous burgers.

  3. 3 Sarah April 14, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Vicious Dogs in North Hollywood. They have some creative delicacies. I’m a big fan of the Veggie Chicago Dog (poppyseed bun) And the Sweet and Spicy Kielbasa.

    Willy, the owner, will personally insure that your hot dog experienced is everything you ever wanted.

    He’ll even recreate a Danger Dog for ya.

  4. 4 Jodi April 28, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Papoo’s Hot Dog Show in Toluca Lake.

  5. 5 Brandon Bennett May 10, 2009 at 3:48 am

    I’ve seen a lot of metro area LA blogs talk about Hot Dogs but why has no one ever mentioned Carney’s? I love Carney’s.

  6. 6 TPK May 20, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    I grew up in the Bay Area, so I have a soft spot for Casper’s: http://www.caspershotdogs.com/

    Now that I’m in the Seattle area I vacillate between Matt’s Gourmet and Shultzy’s Sausage.


Leave a Reply

TWITTER: Hot Dog Death March LA

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 8,488 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

